[REVIEW] One Moment by Kristina McBride

OM

29241215Title: One Moment
Author: Kristina McBride
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Pub. Date: January 17th 2017
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Mystery
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Rating: ★★★

Goodreads || B&N || Amazon

This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie’s life. Now it’s the one she’d do anything to forget.

Maggie Reynolds remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party the night before. She remembers climbing the trail hand in hand with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can’t she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below—dead?

As Maggie’s memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

McBride delivers a novel of secrets that packs an emotional punch, perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman.

MY REVIEW

      One Moment is mysterious, dangerous, and full of drama. Romance plays a large part in the novel, as Maggie’s boyfriend dies and unravels a heap of secrets in his wake. As Maggie struggles to remember what happened while also searching for answers as to where Joey was the night before, readers are sent on a whirlwind of emotions and theories.

The mystery surrounds not only Joey’s death, but the events leading up to it. It is discovered that Joey was not where he said he would be the night before, and suspicions arise. Where was he; who was he with; and why did he lie? As his lies unravel and truths form, we readers have to decide if Joey is truly the person Maggie thought he was. She feels as if he was an entirely different person, and for good reason. But her friends bring up good points throughout the novel.

What is the strongest in this novel however is the friendship, the loyalty. The group sticks together even when it seems suspicious that Maggie can’t remember what happened, even when Joey’s lies start peeling away into truths. They never turn their backs on each other. With the exception of one. Maybe two, if you count one who couldn’t handle the death all that well and how much responsibility suddenly fell on his shoulders.

The writing flowed well. It was easy to read and get immersed in the story, to lose myself in grief and the determination to find out the truth. It was lovely and easy to fall into, making this an enjoyable read.

Overall, I would recommend this to lovers of romance and mystery. It’s a quick, emotional read that will leave you reeling even after the last page was read.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s