[REVIEW] Serenity by India R. Adams

reviewr banner

29957508
Title:
Serenity
Author: India R. Adams
Series: (Forever #1)
Genre: YA, Romance
Pub. Date: July 26, 2016
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Rating: ★★★★.5

Goodreads || B&N || Amazon.com/ca

Summary from Goodreads:

To say I know where this story begins is to say I remember what lifetime started it all…and why. What I do know is this lifetime is hard and cruel…maybe like the rest. That is until I meet him–the light that shines and guides me. To where, I don’t know, but my soul chooses to follow regardless. I believe my soul has done this before. I believe I will follow him…forever.

“The toll on my spirit had slowly broken me down—day by day, night by night, drink by drink, hit by hit—to the limp, fragile, lost girl that Dereck Hamilton . . . carried away.”

A destructive home life silently destroys Serenity, a 16-year-old girl, until her broken spirit is given a gift in the form of an old journal that sends her a visitor in the night. The cloaked woman teaches Serenity that the lingering feeling of missing a part of her soul may not be a figment of her imagination, and with these words, Serenity’s journey, of this lifetime, begins.

“Away from the sun I close my eyes
and release myself into the unknown
I hope she is there
I hope she is there…”

REVIEW

     Serenity is a heartfelt journey that takes you on an emotional ride through hopelandia. Even when your heart is broken, you’re healing from all the hope this book gives you. Even when you’re surrounded by the darkness, the light always finds a way in.

      Serenity is a 17-year-old (she starts off 16) girl who is abused and has an chocoholic for a mother. She doesn’t tell anyone, not even Sky, her best friend who she can’t live without and is connected to in a way that they feel what each other feels. Their journey is a tough one, as they make new friends, find love where they never expected it, and secrets come tumbling out while more are made. Darkness attacks them, and sometimes they get lost, but the hope and light keeps them together.

WRITING
The author’s writing is brilliant. I laughed, I cried, I cheered. I became so invested in these characters and their lives that I forgot I was reading a book. The writing sucked me in and didn’t let me out until I finished the book. I thought about the characters constantly while I wasn’t reading and imagined the different paths the author could take them. The writing is simply amazing.

CHARACTERS
They were great. At times their voices did seem to blend, and the shorties did seem a bit too childish and dependent after they met Rocco and Dereck. Otherwise, they were all strong, compassionate, selfless characters.

Jolene and Josh were the parents of the group, protective and watchful, understanding. They listened to their friends and got them back on their feet every time, even if it meant giving them a reality check. They fought endlessly for their friends.

Serenity and Sky, the shorties, were the babies of the group. They were the shortest, but also the most sorrowful as they both have tough home lives. Glued together, they’re attached at the hip and feel everything the other feels. They’re both compassionate characters who appreciate their friends. They make others see the beauty in things. Sky is a bit more outgoing, but they’re mostly similar.

Dereck and Rocco are the romantic interests, the main protectors of the shorties. They find out what true love is and they treasure it. They are everything a girl could want in a boyfriend, understanding, gentle, kind, loving. They made their girls feel treasured.

ROMANCE
There is a bit of a love triangle with Dereck and Rocco’s exes, and the romance is instant, but it doesn’t feel like it. We have visions and chemistry that make it seem like it was meant to be, and it was. I adored every moment of the romance, and I’m not usually a big fan of it. I was rooting for people, wanted a pair together and another to make it out of the darkness. I never stopped caring, I actually cared too much.

PLOT
I didn’t predict anything correctly at all. There were twists and paths that I never saw coming. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, and I loved it! It did get dramatic at times, but I didn’t really care because I enjoyed the story too much. And while I hate that something so sad had to happen, it brought this story together in a tighter, hopeful way. I can’t wait to see where the author takes us in book two!

Overall
      Serenity takes you on a journey of heart ache and hope, where you learn to treasure things in life and appreciate what you have. The author wasn’t scared to give us details about the abuse (though it was only a few scenes), or the darkness of depression and sadness. Healing takes a long time, but with loved ones by your side, fighting for you, you’ll make it through.

 

serenity

One thought on “[REVIEW] Serenity by India R. Adams

  1. Pingback: July Wrap-Up | Fishing For Books

Leave a Reply

