[BLOG TOUR] Secrets, Lies, and Scandals by Amanda K. Morgan||Review + Giveaway

Title: Secrets, Lies,and Scandals
Author: Amanda K. Morgan
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: July 5th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery
Rate: 3.5/5

Synopsis:
 
In the tradition of I Know What You Did Last Summer and How to Get Away with Murder, five teens must overcome their paranoia in order to keep their teacher’s death a secret in this fast-paced suspense thriller.
Nothing ruins summer vacation like a secret…especially when it involves a dead teacher.
Ivy used to be on top of the social ladder, until her ex made that all go away. She has a chance to be Queen Bee again, but only if the rest of the group can keep quiet.
Tyler has always been a bad boy, but lately he’s been running low on second chances. There’s no way he’s going to lose everything because someone couldn’t keep their mouth shut.
Kinley wouldn’t describe herself as perfect, though everyone else would. But perfection comes at a price, and there is nothing she wouldn’t do to keep her perfect record—one that doesn’t include murder charges.
Mattie is only in town for the summer. He wasn’t looking to make friends, and he definitely wasn’t looking to be involved in a murder. He’s also not looking to be riddled with guilt for the rest of his life…but to prevent that he’ll have to turn them all in.
Cade couldn’t care less about the body, or about the pact to keep the secret. The only way to be innocent is for someone else to be found guilty. Now he just has to decide who that someone will be.

With the police hot on the case, they don’t have much time to figure out how to trust each other. But in order to take the lead, you have to be first in line…and that’s the quickest way to get stabbed in the back.

I was drawn to the mystery and thrill of this book. I would think about it when I wasn’t reading it, trying to come up with endings ad to predict it. It was a quick read and I was eager to flip pages it so time passed by quickly while I was lost in murdur and plots.

The writing flows well and is light enough that the book seemed more humorous about the characters’ situation. Even when murdur made characters do shady things, it never felt really dangerous. This worked because they’re teenagers, and I imagined I would act fairly the same way if I were their age and killed someone. This helped make it relatable and easy to understand, so falling into the book is that much easier.

No character was who they seemed. Not really, anyway. They deceived each other, tried to kill each other, and revealed things about their character you wouldn’t have thought of on your own. They were mysterious and devious and it was great!

Overall, Secrets, Lies, and Scandals is a devious, dangerous book that goes by quickly.

 

 

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg
Follow the Secrets, Lies & Scandals by Amanda K. Morgan Blog Tour and don’t miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.
Amanda K. Morgan is a freelance writer living in Nashville, TN. She covers events and works as a technical writer when she isn’t working on her YA novels.
At age 15, Amanda finished her first novel and continued to write in college, where she graduated Magna Cum Laude with a degree in English and an emphasis in Creative Writing.
Amanda is an avid volleyball player and spends time playing both indoors and out. When Amanda isn’t writing, she enjoys being entirely too busy and trying new things. Endeavors as of late include appearances in music videos, TV, and movies, rock climbing, and attending as many concerts and shows as her schedule allows.

Amanda headed up the Do The Write Thing for Nashville Project (with co-organizers/authors Victoria Schwab and Myra McEntire), which tapped some of the biggest authors, editors, and agents in the industry for an online auction that raised over $70,000 for Midsouth flood relief.

Rules & Conditions in the Rafflecopter | Open INTERNATIONALLY

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s