ARC REVIEW: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

*I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Title:
Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Expected publication date: September 1, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

My disease is as rare as it is famous. It’s a form of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, but basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in fifteen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives. New next door neighbors. I look out the window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black t-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. I want to learn everything about him, and I do. I learn that he is funny and fierce. I learn that his eyes are Atlantic Ocean-blue and that his vice is stealing silverware. I learn that when I talk to him, my whole world opens up, and I feel myself starting to change—starting to want things. To want out of my bubble. To want everything, everything the world has to offer.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Format: eARC
Rating: 4.5/5

I knew I would like this book, but I didn’t know I would love it so, so much.

Why?

Because I felt with Maddy. If she was sad, heartbroken, happy, or even excited,  I was feeling it right along with her because the author did that great of a job bringing the characters to life. You can’t hate any of the characters (maybe his dad, maybe her mom). You can’t hate them for too long though because you’re so wrapped up in the romance and beauty of Maddy and Olly that you push the hate away to feel some of the love.

Actually, the romance left me feeling giddy because it was cute and sweet. Perhaps it could have been better (like all romances, let’s be honest here), but it’s pretty great just the way it is. I mean, I want my own Olly. Like, now. Pretty please? He’s sweet, and caring, and understanding, and he does some wicked cool things.

There’s also diversity. No conflict or anything, just diversity well handled. It’s fantastic!

There’s also graphics to go with certain parts of the book and I love them. They go with the story and help us connect to the story even more, in a visual way.

The only issue I really have with this book? It doesn’t come out until September. And I’m not exactly a patent person.

Overall, Everything, Everything is a fantastic book that I’m sure most everyone will love. I recommend it to everyone, especially if you love romances and books with great characters.

~Sage<3

{It’s short only because I can’t express myself properly and this is what I got. Sorry.}

Leave a Reply

