REVIEW: Lure by Tarynn Kerr

*I received a free ebook version of this book from XpressoBookTours in exchange for an honest review.
Cover
Title: Lure
Author: Tarynn Kerr
Series: Don’t know the title, but I know the second book is currently in the works
Publication date: March 18th 2015
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
 →
Format: Ebook
4.5/5

Synopsis:
Her lips just barely moved, and I heard faintly on a breeze, “I will come back for you.”

David was looking forward to doing some hiking on his family camping trip. That is, until he’s lured into another world. Now he has to hike through the fae world, where fairies, hellhounds, and all sorts of magical creatures are lying in wait. These aren’t nice, fairytale creatures. No, everything here seems determined to kill David and his family. He has to escape this dangerous realm, but the one fairy that can help him may be the one that keeps him here.

      Lure definitely wasn’t what I expected. It had been on my TBR for a while, ever since I requested it, and when I realized I needed a review by the end of the month, I decided to start it. I didn’t bother reading over the synopsis as I had a few months back, and so without really remembering what it could possibly be about I just dived right it. So I was pleasantly surprised when I realized it was about Faes. I honestly haven’t read many books about them, but I loved all the ones I have read, from what I remember. And this one is hardly any different.
      Lure may start off slow, but once it picks up it’s a ride of intrigue, curiosity, action and a possible romance. It’s full of secrets, powers, fighting, creatures like Unicorns, Kelpies (they’re like horses, but they have fins on their feet and they can swim in water like fish!), Hobs (they’re these tiny little brown people who live in the earth in these tunnels and they basically help clean and cook) and the likes. It was nice to get into a world like that again; they’re among my favourites in books.
 What I Liked:
  •       The world building/Writing ||
    • The human world, before David and his family end up in the Fae world, is described well with the surroundings and I enjoyed the hints during that time of what their mom is so paranoid about. The camping grounds remind me of all the times I’ve gone camping, and it was nice to connect so early on.
    • The fishing was especially easy for me to visualize, because I myself may or may not have tried to catch a fish with my bare hands once.
    • The Fae world was well written too, with the different lands and the layout and description. I liked how easily I could visualize the bright flowers David’s mother loves so much, how I could imagine them growing as the power touched them. I enjoyed being able to visualize the raging storm and winter snow, the change that took about a second before their surroundings were completely changed.
    • How the magical beings were introduced and their history never left me bored or thinking, ‘wow, when the heck will this info dump end?!’ I especially love how the Hobs are introduced, with Eric poking it’s head after his finger entered it’s tunnel. Which he didn’t know until the little Hob came out and starting yelling and scolding Eric (it was pretty funny).
  •       The Pacing ||
    • It starts off pretty slow. I honestly didn’t see the importance of David graduating and talking about a party before going to camp the next day. Which is where they meet Boden and where things start picking up after the trail and fog.
    • After the initial slow pace, things get a lot better. The mystery and suspense you feel while David and his family are walking the new, mysterious and peaceful trail really hits you. You just know something is going to happen soon because that part was pretty predictable and then when it does, you’re left screaming thinking ‘I KNEW IT!’ And then looking forward to some action because why wouldn’t there be action? Which brings me to:
  •       The Action ||
    • You should all know by know how much I love action. And considering David and his family escaped a Fae prison, you can definitely expect some in Lure.
    • The only issue I have with it is that it didn’t last nearly as long as I wished it would. d: Oh, and the fight at the end seemed kinda rushed… action should never be rushed, like why would someone do that?
  • The Characters ||
    • I really like Cearo. She’s a quick thinker, a seriously wicked fighter, a compassionate though lonely girl, an old soul, and a broken person. At least to me she is. I liked seeing how she went from a cold, unsure fae to a smiling, happier fae. She’s also very knowledgeable and she knows how to survive. She’s probably my favourite character.
    • David is another character I like. He’s kind, compassionate, and pretty understanding. He always has such faith in others when he needs to be, he’s pretty strong. He fights when he needs to (though he’s honestly not very good at it d: ), helps whenever he can, and seems to only see the good in others. He can comfort someone when the situation arises, and he’s also fairly quick in his thinking. Or, well he learns to be sharper in mind and quieter in sound as he travels with his family and Cearo to the gate.
    • Eric is a lot like Willa, his mother. They’re both easily suspicious and paranoid. They don’t give their trust easily. In fact, even though they had Cearo’s help for most of the book, they seem to distrust her as much as the other faes who want to kill them. Cearo doesn’t really help them with that though, since she basically only cares about David… But in the end, she earns their trust. I think. d:

What I Didn’t Like:

  • The slow pacing, as stated above.
  • The rushed ending.
  • That’s about it.

So, overall, I really enjoyed reading Lure. If you’re a fan of paranormal or fantasy books with Faes, action, and slight romance, then I definitely suggest giving Lure a go.

~Sage<3

One thought on “REVIEW: Lure by Tarynn Kerr

  1. Pingback: Lure by Tarynn Kerr | SageForBooks

Leave a Reply

