REVIEW: Fire of the Sea by Lyndsay Johnson

 *I received an ebook version of this from XpressoReads in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4.5/5

Title: Fire of the Sea                                                                                 Author: Lyndsay Johnson
 Genres: Fantasy, Mythology, Young Adult

Sharp, sleek, and golden. Like the dagger she has worn since childhood, eighteen-year-old Aeva is all three of these things. But there is something else that this mermaid and her prized weapon share – they are both hunted.

Hidden within the caves off Iceland’s dark shore, Aeva waits to take her place as the next ruler of the Mermaids. But when Aeva uses her potent and alluring song to save a drowning human, she disrupts a delicate balance. Realizing she has unexpectedly bound herself to Gunnar, Aeva is torn between duty and love.

Aeva severs one life to begin another, and soon finds herself not only rejected by the sea, but also stalked by an old enemy. As the worlds of myth and man intertwine, Aeva will challenge fate to protect her own sacred relic and the man she loves.

But legend and lies cast an intricate net. With time and safety quickly unraveling for Aeva and Gunnar, there is only one clear course: Find and defeat Delphine before she can shift again.

I don’t read books about mermaids often, mainly because whenever I indulge in one I’m usually left feeling unsatisfied, but also because they tend to follow the line of The Little Mermaid. I’m not saying all do, but from what I’ve read that’s the truth. Fire of the Sea really surprised me though.

I requested this one because I was craving some fantasy (which for the longest time was my favourite genre) and it sounded different enough, right? I hadn’t read about mermaids -since what, 3 years ago?- and so I though I’d give it a try. I honestly did not expect to enjoy it as much as I did, but I’m glad it turned out better then I thought. It is a great mix of mythology, fantasy, romance, and action. There’s mysteries and secrets and deceit, and I loved piecing everything together. Most of the time, my predictions came moments before the events, and not chapters before. It was nice.

The way mythology was entwined to fit the story, to help explain about the existence of mermaids and other sea creatures, was just wonderful. It feels like it could be a real world, a real life! Well, obviously it isn’t, but if it could, if mermaids were to truly exists, this book would be the perfect example. The different species such as the Mermaids and the Selurs and the Nixies and the Selkkie, are all so well written and explained. I enjoyed the information about different Gods, about Gunnar’s lineage, about Aeva’s lineage, and just the story itself. The world building is great and the characters are easy to fall in love with.

Aeva started off scared of any danger, freezing in place in fear, all because her mind was stuck replaying the time when she was eight and Delphine killed her entire family. Aeva was lucky to get away. By then end of the book, she is strong, confident, more knowledgeable and mature, and she can fight if she needs to. I enjoyed watching her grow and shape into a stronger character. Gunnar was trying hard not to accept his true place, trying hard to think all mythical creatures are just that: myths. By then end of the book? He has embraced his lineage and true place, has become more confident and strong, and he also came out more knowledgeable. I enjoyed watching their relationship blossom. It was rather quick, but I understand how the bond works and so I had very little problems with it. Plus, they make an adorable couple. Just saying.

All in all, my thoughts on mermaid books have changed, the writing is great, the characters are great, the plot is great, and I really enjoyed reading Fire of the Sea. I recommend this to lovers of fantasy, romance, mermaids, mythology and maybe even action.

How do you all feel about mermaids?

~Sage d:

Leave a Reply

