REVIEW: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

   Full of strange, odd, brilliant characters and situations, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children instantly grew close to my heart. It is the perfect mix of strange and odd and normal and creepy and everything one should love in a book.

Can I just say one thing though? Okay. My brain is stuck on repeat. Like, all I can think  about is how this book is just:

It’s so… peculiar. [;)] It was so easy to be immersed in the story. Initially, I  would  try to only read a little a day because I ordered the second book and I didn’t  want to  finish it days before my order came in, but then I just kept getting sucked in and it was really hard to put it down and so I stopped reading it for a few days. And then I found out my order is going to be late and so I thought, ‘screw it’ and I picked it up and finished it.

I was intrigued all throughout the book and I adore how the photographs entwined with the story. It’s so weird (in a good way) and not like anything I’ve ever read before. The peculiar children are so odd and it’s like.. I don’t even know. I just finished the book, right, and I can’t form proper thoughts right now. Basically, in a good, brilliantly written way:

And who doesn’t love madness? Especially when it comes in the form of floating, invisible, ball of fire/light producing, supernaturally strong,  peculiar children? And of course, there’s more but you’ll have to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children to find out. d:

This is the first book, right, so it’s more of an introductory to the world and the children and some of the issues they need to fix, but even so it’s so well written and structured, and the situations the characters are put through keep you on the edge of your seat. You almost feel as if the character’s emotions are your own, and like you’re with him, watching as it all unfolds. It’s just so unique and strange and brilliant.

I might edit this tomorrow, considering that it’s late and this probably fails to express the actual brilliance this story possesses, and so I’ll leave after I say this: You need to read this book in order to understand how unique and strange it really is. You want a story that you’ll love? One you have the urge to re-read? One that will always stick with you because of how different it is? Then pick up Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and experience it all. It’s brilliant. And if you don’t love it, well, I don’t know what to say to you. I’d say I can guarantee you will love it, but not everyone loves the same book. With that said, I hope you decide to read it and love it as much as I do!

Rating: 5/5 stars.

~Sage

Leave a Reply

