REVIEW: Of High Treason by Ember Shane

*This is the sequel to Of Royal Descent
**I received this book from the author. (Thanks Ember!<33)

Alright, I just need to get this off my chest before I get on with the review: WHAT THE HECK IS JENNY?! Like, my first thought was Vampire (I mean, obviously. My first ever obsession was Vampires, so duh d:) but I don’t even know right now because I mean, there were hints but they weren’t solid enough to be sure. Like, I’m 95% sure she is. I think.

Now that I sorta got that out of the way, let’s get on with the review shall we?

Of High Treason may be significantly shorter than Of Royal Descent (which I was really bummed about at first but now I totally get it and it’s all good), but it’s BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE. Not by much, obviously, because the first one was pretty awesome, but in Of High Treason we get more action and determination and character growth and it’s just so great and I love it.

Okay so I can’t give too many details (because of this thing called spoilers) but I’m still going to share some information. This is my attempt to subtly convince you to read this series. Like, now. So first, key reasons of why you need to read this series: zombies, action, zombies, fantastic character development, zombies, romance, family and friend bonds which are very touching at times, zombies, some drama, zombies, lies and deceit, hope and bravery, zombies, the supernatural, action, and have I said zombies yet? d: So second: IT MESSES WITH YOUR EMOTIONS. Like, after reading the first book, I was so sure I could trust almost all of the characters, and I thought I had Bradbury all figured out. And now I realize, well damn, I WAS WRONG. Like, man. I’m still so messed up about it. That twist though, personally, I never saw it coming. Or, well okay I sorta did, but only like, moments before it happened? I don’t know. It just messed me up bad because I had no idea who I could trust, and I was freaking out when Doyle pushed the button and whoa. I was so immersed in the story that I felt as if I was right by the characters’ side during it all. I trusted, and then I was betrayed, and man. Gimme a minute. I need a minute to collect myself. To accurately express myself:

I was going to have a reason 3, but like, if you don’t want to read this series by now then it’s obviously not for you. I still suggest you give it a try though. Because ZOMBIES. d: Basically, the writing is fantastic, the character development is fantastic, the action and the twists are fantastic (I barely saw, if ever, the twists that occurred and made my feelings so confused, like why Ember, why?! d:), and I love it so. Yep. Although, okay so there are some… dirty scenes. In the first book, they’re not graphic, and they never go far. In this one though, there’s once where it’s not graphic, and then at the end where it is. I know not everyone will enjoy this series, and that not everyone is okay with what I just said, and so that’s okay. But if you are okay with it, definitely give this series a go!

This is me begging you:

But yeah, so that’s my feels. I don’t usually have so many feels in a review. I apologize.

Oh, and rating: 5/5 stars. You should’ve seen that coming if you’re surprised. d:

~Sage<3

Leave a Reply

